The current department head isĀ Dr. Sadik Taju, Assistant professor of Ophthalmology, who graduated from the department in 2011.

There are 5 sub-specialty units within the department. The department has a total of around 15 staff members made up of 1 Professors, 5 Assoc. professors, 7 Assist. Professors and 2 lecturers distributed in the various specialty and sub-specialty units. The following are the unit departments with their respective unit heads:

  1. Vitro-Retina:- Dr. Tilikswe Teshome
  2. Pediatric Ophthalmology :- Dr. Sadik Taju
  3. Cornea( Anterior Segment):- Dr. Menen Ayelew
  4. Glaucoma:- Dr. Abeba T/Giorgis

Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery: Dr. Yilikal

Teaching/Training Hospitals

  • Menelik II Referral hospital

As part of the post-graduate training, residents are obliged to attend daily morning sessions at 8:00am on weekdays except on Wednesdays which are dedicated to academic activities for post-graduate students.

  • Seminars
  • Guest lecture sessions

Clinical services

  • Vitro-Retina
  • Pediatric Ophthalmology
  • Cornea( Anterior Segment)
  • Glaucoma
  • Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery