The department of ophthalmology is one of the departments within the SoM of AAU. The department currently offers a 4-year ophthalmology specialty program while contributing to the training of undergraduate medical students and providing advanced eye care through its highly skilled and experienced staff. The department started providing postgraduate training in ophthalmology in 1980 with Dr. Paulos Kenea as the first and the only faculty member at the time. A second faculty member, Dr. Fekede Mengistu, joined the department in 1981.  Two of the first three graduates from the department also joined the faculty. With further two ophthalmologists joining after few years, the number of teaching staff reached six. Currently, the department has 13 full-time teaching staff who are also involved in providing clinical services. While 11 of the staffs are subs-specialists in Retina, Pediatric ophthalmology, Glaucoma, Anterior segment and Oculoplastic surgery, two are fellows in the process of doing their sub-specialty training. In addition, two of them are optometrists.

Since its establishment, more than 120 ophthalmologists have graduated from the department. The typical enrollment has been two to four residents per year until 2012 when the annual admissions started to rise gradually reaching 15 in 2017. Currently, there are 36 residents undergoing their specialty training in ophthalmology and curriculum development for subspecialty training in two disciplines is underway.

The department of ophthalmology at AAU uses the facilities of Menelik II Referral Hospital, the oldest hospital in the country which the Addis Ababa Health Bureau manages. In an attempt to expand the facilities for teaching, the department recently affiliated itself with Quiha hospital in Tigray region. Apart from training, the department is involved in provision of clinical services and conducting research in diverse areas. Faculty members and residents conduct clinical research using the facilities of Menelik-II Referral Hospital and Gurage Zone, in SNNPR, is the location for community research.

About Us

General Objectives

To improve the quality of life of persons with avoidable blindness and those at risk of blindness in Ethiopia

Mission Statement

“To provide quality eye care services to Ethiopians while producing highly competent ophthalmologists and conducting rigorous research on eye disorders”

Vision Statement 

“To become a center of excellence for eye care services, ophthalmology training, and research in East Africa “

Core Values

The following are the proposed core values for the department:

  • Integrity
  • Ethical conduct
  • Commitment to innovation and excellence
  • Focus on quality
  • Accountability and transparency
  • Sense of ownership
  • Fostering partnerships
  • Responsiveness to local, national, and international health needs

Chair and Vice Chair

Current Chair of the department is Dr. Sadik Taju and

Current Chair of the department is Dr. Dereje Negussie