The College of Veterinary Medicine and Agriculture is one of the colleges under Addis Ababa University. It was established in 1979 with the objective of producing animal health assistants (Diploma program). It is the pioneer veterinary college for the nation. Currently it is upgraded to college level with diversified disciplines. Seven departments are organized under this college. Veterinary education is offered in Bishoftu, a beautiful town surrounded by 7 crater lakes and located at a distance of 47 km south east of the capital, Addis Ababa, while the agricultural program is delivered in Fiche campus (144 km away from Addis Ababa in the north of the country). Three undergraduate programs are being run namely DVM (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine), BSC in agriculture and BSC in Veterinary Laboratory technology (summer program). The  graduate programs include MSc in eight programs, namely, Veterinary Parasitology, Veterinary Pathology, Veterinary Microbiology, Veterinary Public Health, Animal Health and Production, Animal Physiology, Veterinary Obstetrics and Gynecology and Veterinary Epidemiology and four PhD programs ( Veterinary Parasitology, Veterinary Public Health, Animal Production, Veterinary Obstetrics and Gynecology). The total number of the academic staff including Technical Assistants on the two campuses of the College is 91.


  1. Department of Animal Production Studies
  2. Department of Biomedical Sciences
  3. Department of Clinical Studies
  4. Department of Veterinary Microbiology, Immunology and Public Health
  5. Department of Parasitology and Pathology
  6. Veterinary Teaching Hospital
  7. Department of Agriculture (Selale Campus)