AAU awards outstanding scholars, staffs

The Addis Ababa University on 26 May 2017 recognized and awarded meritorious employees with track records of outstanding performance in 2015/16 in a colorful ceremony held at the College of Business and Economics Hall.

The AAU recognized eminent scholars with different awards categories including distinguished service award, distinguished teaching award, distinguished research award, emerging faculty scholar award and make a difference award.

A total of ten scholars with outstanding performance at college level and six others at university level have received different awards.

The award is intended to keep the awardees motivated for further remarkable achievements in their scholarly career.

Congratulating the awardees Professor Admasu Tsegyae, AAU Presidents noted that scholars had an extraordinary role in realizing the vision of the university in research activities as well as in the teaching process.

“This award will continue to motivate staffs who enormously contribute for the betterment of the university,” says Admasu.

Expressing his pride to be at the occasion, H.E Kassa T/Birhan, Minister of Federal and Pastoralist Affairs and Board Chair of the AAU on his part said “higher education institutions are agent to transform the country producing skilled man power, leader, researcher who can direct and build the society.”


He further urged the scholars to transform their ground knowledge in their specializations into practice thereby to create a prosperous modern Ethiopia.

Winners of the awards were selected from each college based on the selection criteria set by committee appointed by the university president and subcommittees from respective colleges to assign the nominee.

On the same occasion the university also awarded H.E.Kasa T/Berhan, Minister of Federal and Pastoralist Affairs and Board Chair of the AAU Special services award categories for his wholehearted service at AAU being Chairperson of Governing Board of the university over the last years.