AAU Student Leadership Election Results Declared

The Addis Ababa University student council presidential race that began early May has finally come to an end with Tewodros Agegneghu, a fourth year computer software engineering student at AAiT emerging as the winner, amassing 67.7% of the votes cast.

The president-elect said he was thrilled to be declared winner and pledged to safeguard the academic interests of students and promote the university as council president in partnership with relevant bodies of the university.

He is followed by College of Law and Governance Studies student Selam Fekadu, who has become the second female vice-president in the AAU student council’s history garnering 24.6 % of the votes.  Fereja Mitiku from the College of Veterinary Medicine and Agriculture has become secretary of the union coming third.

According to Shibru Temesgen (PhD), Dean of Students’ at AAU, the leadership election, which is a two-step process conducted first at the college level and then at the university-level, provides an opportunity for regular undergraduate students in all 11 colleges to select their leaders who will be their voice for issues and concerns about student life through electronic balloting in full freedom and independence.

The 2024 election went smoothly without any incident being reported, the dean disclosed.

The Dean of Students further said the elected student leaders will receive training covering a number of areas crucial to their roles, including cross-cultural competence, assertiveness, and conflict handling, among others and opportunities will be provided to officeholders to work on projects as well as attend events and functions relevant to the positions.