AAU and Turkish Maarif Foundation Sign Cooperative Agreement

Addis Ababa University (AAU) and the Turkish Maarif Foundation signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to cooperate on education and research related activities for mutual advantages, at the Senate Conference room of AAU on the 3rd of November 2023.

While Samuel Kifle (PhD), the Interim President of AAU, signed on the side of Addis Ababa University, Professor Dr. Birol Akgun, Chairman of the Foundation, represented the Turkish Maarif Foundation (TMF) instantly.

The protocol document composed of 13 Articles leads the Parties to agree on 17 areas of cooperation including mutual support of educational activities to the extent possible, supporting academic researches, creation and enhancement of educational programs, curriculum and material supply, organization of joint research and developmental studies, etc.

The agreement shall remain in force for three (3) years as of the date of the signing and the protocol shall be deemed to extend for one (1) year at the end of the termination date unless one of the Parties notify its wish to terminate it in writing.

According to the information from the MoU document, AAU, which was established in 1950 as the University College of Addis Ababa (UCAA), is a public university re-established by the Council of Ministers for the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE) approved an autonomous establishment in August 2023.

TMF based on the document, was established by the Law No. 6721 in order to provide formal and non-formal education services aiming to become pioneering educational institution and providing unique and multidimensional solutions in the field of education to initiate a major educational movement around the world.

The MoU document indicated that the implementation of cooperation projects shall be realized by signing additional protocols which include the details of the project or by a written notification that indicates the acceptance of the other Party’s proposal.

Editor: Abraham Girmay

Photo: Fikremariam Beyene